Ciao My Shining Star: The Songs Of Mark Mulcahy

Various Artists

Ciao My Shining Star: The Songs Of Mark Mulcahy

Available in:   US and Canada

Release Date:  09/29/2009

Exclusive tracks by Thom Yorke, Michael Stipe!

List Price: $13.98

SHOUT! PRICE: $11.98


Products Details


Ciao My Shining Star: The Songs of Mark Mulcahy, is a tribute to former Miracle Legion and Polaris front man Mark Mulcahy. The album features 21 exclusive recordings by Thom Yorke, Michael Stipe, Dinosaur Jr., Mercury Rev, The National, Frank Black, Vic Chesnutt, Josh Rouse, and many others performing versions of Mulcahy's songs. His wife, Melissa, died suddenly in September 2008, and proceeds from the sale of the album will go directly to Mulcahy to help him provide for his family and continue his career as a musician. Mulcahy was the front man and main songwriter for alternative rock and Miracle Legion in the 1980s to mid 1990s. Mulcahy also fronted Polaris, the house band for the mid 1990s alternative television series The Adventures of Pete & Pete (1993-96). Mulcahy has opened for Oasis and Jeff Buckley, and has received homage from Radiohead front man Thom Yorke, who dedicated a song to Mulcahy at a concert in Boston. Nick Hornby wrote an essay on Mulcahy's song "Hey Self-Defeater" in the book 31 Songs.

Discs: 1


Preview Disc Track Track Title Artist Format Time    
1 1 All For The Best Thom Yorke Audio -
1 2 Ashamed Of The Story I Told The National Audio -
1 3 Everything's Coming Undone Michael Stipe Audio -
1 4 Love's The Only Thing That Shuts Me Up David Berkeley Audio -
1 5 The Backyard Dinosaur Jr Audio -
1 6 Micon The Icon Chris Harford & The Band Of Changes Audio -
1 7 Bill Jocko Frank Black Audio -
1 8 Little Man Vic Chesnutt Audio -
1 9 Ciao My Shining Star Unbelievable Truth Audio -
1 10 I Have Patience Butterflies Of Love, The Audio -
1 11 Cookie Jar Chris Collingwood Audio -
1 12 The Quiet One Frank Turner Audio -
1 13 In Pursuit Of Your Happiness Rocket From The Tombs Audio -
1 14 Wake Up Whispering Ben Kweller Audio -
1 15 I Woke Up In The Mayflower Josh Rouse Audio -
1 16 Paradise The Autumn Defense Audio -
1 17 Happy Birthday Yesterday Hayden Audio -
1 18 We're Not In Charleston Anymore Juliana Hatfield Audio -
1 19 Sailors And Animals Mercury Rev Audio -
1 20 She Watches Over Me Elvis Perkins Audio -
1 21 A World Away From This One Sean Watkins Audio -


Be the first to review this product
Login or register to post comments

Recently Viewed Products